About me and why I am here

Hi, I am Mary, I live in Bali, and have done since 1995. I grew up in England, but never felt I belonged there, and always liked to read about far away lands. I started travelling when I was 18, and found I loved visiting new places, learning new languages and understanding new cultures. I did not want to be a mere tourist, looking in from the outside, I wanted to really get to know the people and understand what made them tick. I took a year off after school, and spent time in France and Israel. I learned such a lot by living on a kibbutz in Israel, being part of a completely different lifestyle really opened my eyes to an alternative way of living.

I continued travelling after university, and when I arrived in Bali, I felt I had found a place where I could settle. Meeting my husband was a deciding factor! It has not been easy, but its certainly been interesting! Bali has so much to offer visitors, and part of my reason for blogging is to share my experiences, to encourage people to go beyond the tourist traps like Kuta, and see the real Bali.

Another reason for starting this blog was an attempt to find my voice, and see where it takes me. I am a mother of 3 wonderful children who do not need my constant supervision any more, so I have more time on my hands to do the things that make me happy. Writing is the top of that list. I absolutely love to write, and so many strange and wonderful things happen on a daily basis here, I figured there is plenty of inspiration to write about.

I want to share my love of Bali, and give insights in to the way the people think and live here. I am no expert, but I like to think I have something to say. I plan to have weekly recipes of Balinese and Indonesian food, as well as share my thoughts on what is happening here, and give some explanations on the culture and traditions. Let me know what you think, and what you would like to know more about. I am open to any and all suggestions.

16 thoughts on “About me and why I am here

  1. Hi Mary, I am interested to see how your blog develops with the course Blogging 101.
    Im on it too and have enjoyed having a nose through your posts. Im looking forward to learning more about WordPress and meeting like minded bloggers. Im really looking forward to the recipes you mention, so hello from me and happy blogging. Maybe you can check me out too.
    https://fromthebrainofkatyingram.wordpress.com
    I have another blog that I have been keeping for two years https://wearethehousesitters.wordpress.com It charts mine and my lovely bearded husbands global house sitting adventures.

    Like

    • I visited we are the house sitters, and loved the photos of that house, its amazing. I could not get in to your other blog though. Thanks for visiting my blog, and for letting me know you wold be interested in recipes. That idea just came to me last week, and I think it could be popular

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thats do you couldn’t get into my new blog? Ill check it out and see if its my end. Yes, Word recipes are always fabulous, especially from someone who’s living in the country the recipes are from, I often search blogs for new dishes to try. Yes this house is wonderful isn’t it, we have a great time staying in other peoples lovely homes and caring for all sorts of animals. Thanks Mary, Happy blogging. X

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the blog Mary, and this picture of the rice terraces brings back so many memories! I actually cried at the airport when I had to leave Bali, it is such a beautiful country and the people are fascinating! I can’t wait to read more of your stories, and I’m looking forward to the recipes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve done a bit perusing your site and I love it! I know what you mean about not feeling you belong.I felt the same way. I’m originally from Washington, DC and never felt that was my home and I recently moved to my comfort zone. – Denver, CO.

    Kudos and Congrats on living your life!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment