Goodbye for now

I am going home tomorrow, back to my homeland, to visit family and friends. I have butterflies in my stomach, and am full of excitement. I have not been home for 3 years, and am looking forward to reconnecting with everyone.

So its goodbye to Bali for now, I hope to see a few sunsets while I am in the UK, but the weather is so unpredictable,its hard to know what to expect. There certainly will not be any palm trees in the view.

What there will be for sure though are very long summer evenings, where it does not get dark until 10pm. I love that, here it gets dark at 6,30pm every evening, all year around. There will be drinks in pub gardens, laughs with friends and family, and long talks, catching up with everything in our lives.

I cherish these times, and appreciate what I have, and what I left behind all those years ago. I am happy with the decisions I have made, but I still miss home, and love reconnecting with my roots. I will enjoy sharing these memories with my daughter who will be coming with me.

As always, I will feel a little out of place, as I no longer belong over there. If I have time, I will share some of the experiences of being an English girl who has lived most of her life abroad, and what it feels like to be home, seeing British life through different eyes. Where this blog is usually “Bali through English eyes”  it will now be “England through Balinese eyes”

That is, at least for the next month. I will be back in Bali at the end of July, and everything will back to normal.

Take care, and see you soon..

19 thoughts on “Goodbye for now

  1. Hope you have a great time back here in the UK. The weather’s not been too bad, actually over the early summer – a mix of rain and sun here, though that’s in Bristol and I think we might’ve had a better time than some parts.
    Have a great time x

    Like

  2. Beautifully expressed. I’m reading this rather late, knowing that you’ve had your visit back to Englad, but I wanted to read your thoughts on ‘going home’ again before you actually left. I’m glad I did.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

