I will survive!

Your topic:  What is the best quality you possess?

I hate that kind of question, if you were to ask me about my worst quality, I could go on for hours, but my best? We are not really encouraged to blow our own trumpet, society always reminds us of our flaws, and weaknesses, and I obsess about them on a daily basis. But, if you were to insist on me picking a good quality, I guess it would have to be my ability to always make the best of any given situation.

All through my life I have moved around quite a bit, and so I have had to fit in wherever I was. We lived in Australia for a couple of years when I was a child, then a few different places in England, before I found myself in Bali. When I first met my husband, I had no idea how we were going to make a living here, but I just believed that we could figure it out.

When I got pregnant, I was scared silly of giving birth, but when it came along, my midwife assured my I was a strong woman, and I did it, not just once, but 3 times, all without a single drug!!

My kids have presented me with many challenges along the way, but some how I always manage to think of a way to get through. I guess its a survival instinct, but I definitely never give up. My marriage has not been perfect, but we have never given up on it. Looking at the divorce rate in the world I am pretty proud of that!

So I guess I am trying to say, my best quality is that I am a survivor, and I like to keep positive and never give up hope!

Word count 309 words in 10 minutes

I was recently invited by Spence’s girl  to participate in a Free Style Writing Challenge.

Here’s the way it works.

Free Style Writing Challenge

Here are the cut-and-pasted rules:
Open an MS Word document (or Pages)
1. Set a stop watch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat. (Not sure what that meant so I just set the timer for 10)
2. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
3. Fill the word doc with as many words as you want. Once you began writing do not stop even to turn.
4. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
5. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and capitals. However, if you do, it would be best.
6. At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
7. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new Topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nominations (at least 5 bloggers).

I’m now going to follow suit and nominate 5 fellow bloggers to participate.  And I hope they do.  This may not have been my best work but it stretches the writing muscle like the writing class I took last year which required us to write, on the spot and then share with the class.  

I nominate:

creaking bones

HumaAq

Finkelstein

Uday

My Red Page

your topic: What is the meaning of life to you?

4 thoughts on “I will survive!

  1. I just love that! I think the reason I chose that topic is most of us are less likely to recognize our best qualities. We compliment others with ease but tend toward being self critical.
    So glad you did the challenge and I love what you wrote. Your story is worth sharing, brilliant. You are a survivor, what a life you have!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

